Areté Award Program

Jointly sponsored by CPRS Calgary and CPRS Edmonton, the Alberta Areté Awards (2006-2012) offered a great opportunity to showcase outstanding work and gain professional and public recognition.

CPRS Calgary has offered several awards programs over the years. The most recent was a collaboration with CPRS Edmonton to present the CPRS Alberta Areté Awards (inspired by the Greek word Areté meaning knowledge, wisdom and excellence). Due to a decrease in submissions over the past few years, the CPRS Calgary and Edmonton Boards decided to suspend the program.

Congratulations to past Areté Award Winners

2011 Recipients

Award of Attainment
Diane Begin, APR
B. David McAsey APR, FCPRS(H), LM

Student Award
Sherilyn Braun, Grant MacEwan University
Crystal Komanchuk, Grant MacEwan University

2010 Recipients

Award Of Attainment
Judi Gunter, APR, LM

Award In External Communications – Communications Management
Nancy H. Arab, APR, ABC, FCPRS, Alberta Electric System Operators (AESO), AESO’s Public Education Program

Award In External Communications – Community Relations
Airdrie Centennial Committee, City of Airdrie, Airdrie Centennial Project 2009

Student Award
Janelle Beblow, Grant McEwan University

2009 Recipients

Award of Attainment
Donna Swiniarski, APR

Award in Internal Communication
Kathryn Osterberg, APR, The City of Calgary, CPB Employee Engagement

Award in External Communication – Investor/Shareholder Relations
Miriam Trottier and Dianne Trach, ABC, TELUS Corporation and Geneva Ventures Inc., TELUS 2007 Annual Report

Award in External Communication – Marketing Communication
Karissa Boley, NATIONAL Public Relations and Pfizer Canada, My Time to Quit Comedy Tour

Award in External Communication – Community Relations
Jennifer Tames, Jocelyn Tennison and Karen Tomnuk, Strathcona County, Get with the Green Routine!

2007 Recipients

Award of Attainment
Beth Diamond, NATIONAL Public Relations

Award in Internal Communication
Tanisha Tetz, Alberta College and Association of Chiropractors (ACAD), Entirely Electronic

Student Award
Deanna Cameron Dubuque, University of Calgary

2006 Recipients

Award in External Communication
Lisa Frizzell, Direct Energy, Direct in the Community – Volunteer Citizen of the Year Awards 2006
Grant Kaiser, APR (honourable mention), Calgary Public Library, Great Alberta Reading Challenge

Student Award
Jason Krell, Mount Royal University
Mariam Kadri (honourable mention), University of Calgary